CRM Software for Economic Development Organizations
Phone: +1 805 967 1280 | email: sales@outreachsystems.com

How can I use the Status page to see the users who are logged and the distribution of documents stored in Neoserra?

The Status page, available under the Administration menu, lets you see not only who is currently logged in, it also gives you user history on a day-by-day basis. At the bottom of the page you will additionally see the document storage distribution by center. In this FAQ we will discuss:

Current Users

Neoserra pricing is based on a concurrent user subscription model. In other words, the more users you have online at the same time, the higher your annual subscription. You determine your subscription level at the onset of your service contract and Neoserra will ensure that you don't exceed the number of licensed users. The way Neoserra does this is by blocking users from logging on when the total number of users actively using Neoserra equals the total number of user licenses purchased as part of your annual subscription. To see how many users are currently logged in, you can go to the Status page to see the Current users:

Neoserra does not support Internet Explorer 8, 9 or 10. If a user is currently logged in with one of these browsers, then the interface will highlight this. If you have a more current version of Microsoft Internet Explorer installed but you have set your browser in "Emulation Mode" then it will emulate an older version of the browser which may not be supported. Please refer to the Microsoft support site on how you can turn emulation/compatibility mode off within your browser.

If you have more users than actual user licenses then your users should be encouraged to log-out of Neoserra when they know that they will be away from their computer for a while. As soon as the user logs out, their session is disconnected and their seat is immediately freed up for another user. Ideally, every session should end this way.

If the maximum number of concurrent users has been reached, and a new user is trying to log on, then Neoserra will automatically bump a user that has been idle for more than an hour. Thus, allowing the new user to log on. If a Neoserra user neglects to log out of Neoserra and they are not yet idle for more than an hour, then a Neoserra administrator may disconnect the user manually in order to free the user seat (i.e. license) for another user.

Manual disconnects are necessary when you need to free up a user seat and don't want to wait for the session to time out due to idleness. To manually disconnect a user, enter administrator-mode and select Administration|Status. As shown in the next graphic, the top "Current Users" table shows all users that are currently logged in. To disconnect a user, click the "Logoff" hyperlink that displays in the far right column of the user's table entry. A pop-up window will display, asking if you are sure that you want to disconnect the user. Click OK and the user will be disconnected.

By default, Neoserra will not automatically log users off Neoserra after a certain amount of idle time. If you have sufficient user licenses for all your users, then a Neoserra user could stay in from one day to the next (assuming their internet access remains alive.) You can contact OutreachSystems and ask them to configure your database to automatically log users off either after X hours of inactivity.

Historical Users

If you are interested in seeing the total number of users logged into Neoserra on a particular date and/or time then you can click on the "User History" link in the upper right hand corner.

By default, you will see today's usage for the hours since midnight. If you want to look at another date, then you can select the date in the upper left hand corner:

Document Storage

Database administrators also have control over the size and types of files that can be uploaded. From the General Settings area of the global configuration settings (Administration|Configuration|General), administrators can designate the maximum file size per attachment and designate the types of files that are not allowed for upload for security reasons.

Administrators can see what percentage of your storage allocation is currently being used by choosing Administration|Status:

Furthermore, if you are nearing your storage capacity limit, then the all users will see the following warning message when they hover over the "Upload" link:

Database administrators in administrator-mode can view, query, or delete uploaded documents by selecting Administration|Configuration|Document Attachments. Documents that are marked for deletion will be deleted from the system at midnight, thus allowing you to restore the document if necessary.



Want more? Browse our extensive list of Neoserra FAQs.